Word To The Wise – No. 4

The Songwriter's Soup.

“I have freely begged, borrowed, and patched together. If there is any quality in my work, it is primarily in the “taste” with which I have raided others’ stores and in the way I have adapted and mixed together the ingredients and, thereby, made the soup. Some will, of course, not recognize the ingredient they have contributed, or, at least, not want to admit they do after they taste my soup. If there are occasional inventions, their only chance for a full life is that someone else will borrow them and mix them into new soup.”

James Paul Gee (2011)

1 Comment

Filed under Word To The Wise

One response to “Word To The Wise – No. 4

  1. I love that! I am going to steal that for my facebook. I always felt bad at times because certain aspects of my compositions sounded like some of my other favorite film composers. I also get frustrated when I start “borrowing” stuff from my older compositions. I discovered one day that the chord progressions where the same as some other compositions and that was slightly upsetting at first because I want each of my compositions to be as unique sounding and individual as possible.

Leave a Reply

